Toronto Esperanto Circle




We meet every Monday from 18:00 to 19:00 to drink coffee and enjoy conversation in Esperanto. At 19:00 some of us go to one of the nearby restaurants to eat and continue the conversations.


PLEASE NOTE!

On March 2, 2015, we will meet at Balzac’s Coffee Roasters on the ground floor of the Toronto Reference Library, 789 Yonge Street, which is on the east side of Yonge Street, one block north of Bloor Street East (Bloor-Yonge subway). This café opens into the library’s main public space as well as Yonge Street. We will be visiting this location to try it out as a possible new location for our social meetings.

The Toronto Reference Library is the only public library in Toronto that has a collection of books in Esperanto. If you come to this meeting, we incourage you also to browse the library’s Esperanto collection, and possibly even borrow something from it. This collection is part of the Languages & Literature Department, and is located on the 4th floor of the library. Although this is primarily a reference library, one is able to borrow books from its collections of materials published in minority languages, including Esperanto. (This exception also applies to musical scores.)

On March 9, 2015, we will meet again on the 2nd floor of Loblaws, 60 Carlton Street (College subway).



On March 23, 2015, from 18:00 to 20:00, there will be another planning session for the Mez-Kanada Renkontiĝo de Esperanto (MeKaRo) (mid-Canadian meeting of Esperanto), which will be happening in Toronto from May 16 to 18, 2015. This planning session will be held at the home of one of our members, and it replaces the social meeting of the same evening.

Here is our calendar. Click on any event in our calendar to see more details.



You can contact us at esperanto.toronto(at)gmail.com for more information.


Our Bulletin: La Torontano (The Torontonian)

All issues of our bulletin, La Torontano, are accessible to our members using Google Drive.

Biblioteka Vespero (library evening)

From time to time we gather together at the home of one of the club members, which also serves as the library of our club, and there we discuss interesting issues, enjoy some fine refreshments and get to know each other better.

Executive Committee

  • President: Matthew Chisholm
  • Vice President: Scott Robert Dawson
  • Vice President of krokodilaj* Affairs: Ryan Lortie
  • Secretary: vacant
  • Treasurer: Detlef Karthaus

*related to speaking one’s national language in an Esperantist or international setting

Cercle espérantiste de Toronto




Nous nous rencontrons tous les lundis entre 18h00 et 19h00 pour prendre un café et converser en espéranto. À 19h00, certains d’entre nous allons souper dans un restaurant du quartier pour continuer notre conversation.


ATTENTION !

Le 2 mars 2015, nous nous rencontrerons à Balzac’s Coffee Roasters au rez-de-chaussée de la Toronto Reference Library, située au 789, rue Yonge, sur le côté est de la rue Yonge, une rue au nord de la rue Bloor Est (métro Bloor-Yonge). Ce café a une entrée séparée, mais on peut également y accéder directement à partir de la bibliothèque. Nous visitons ce café pour l’évaluer comme nouveau lieu potentiel pour nos rencontres sociales.

La Toronto Reference Library est la seule bibliothèque publique de Toronto qui détient une collection de livres en espéranto. Si vous participez à cette rencontre, on vous encourage également à fureter dans la collection espéranto de la bibliothèque et éventuellement à y emprunter un ou des livres. Cette collection fait partie de la Languages & Literature Department, et elle se trouve au 4e étage de la bibliothèque. Quoique la Toronto Reference Library soit principalement une bibliothèque de référence, on peut y emprunter, sur une base exceptionnelle, des livres de ses collections publiées en langues moins utilisées, incluant l’espéranto. (Cette exception s’étend également aux partitions de musique).

Le 9 mars 2015, nous nous rencontrerons de nouveau au 2e étage de Loblaws, au 60, rue Carlton (métro College).



Le comité d’organisation de Mez-Kanada Renkontiĝo de Esperanto (MeKaRo) (la rencontre des espérantophones du Canada central), qui aura lieu à Toronto du 16 au 18 mai 2015, se rencontrera le 23 mars 2015 de 18h00 à 20h00. Cette rencontre du comité aura lieu chez un de nos membres et remplacera la rencontre sociale de cette journée.

Voici notre calendrier. Cliquez sur l’évènement pour plus de détails.



Pour de plus amples renseignements, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter à notre adresse courriel esperanto.toronto(à)gmail.com.


Notre bulletin d’information : La Torontano (le Torontois)

Chaque parution de La Torontano est disponible à nos membres par le biais de Google Drive.

Biblioteka Vespero (soirée bibliothèque)

Nous nous rencontrons de temps à autre chez un de nos membres où nous conservons notre biliothèque, et où nous discutons d’intéressantes questions, dégustons de délicieux rafraîchissements, et apprenons à nous connaître davantage.

Conseil d’administration

  • Président: Matthew Chisholm
  • Vice-président: Scott Robert Dawson
  • Vice-président aux affaires krokodilaj*: Ryan Lortie
  • Secrétaire: vacante
  • Trésorier: Detlef Karthaus

*Relatif à parler en sa langue nationale dans un milieu espérantiste ou international